Dorothy T.

Babysitter in Chicago, IL 60625

Chicago, IL 60625



You will be taken to an external provider profile web page.

Write a message

Hi… My name is Dorothy. I am a mommy of a8 year old little girl and a4 1/2year old little boy. I have been a stay at home mommy since our daughter was born. I love being around children and find that they like to be around me.
I know from my own experience, in dealing with our son’s separation anxiety when he was a baby, how important it is to have peace of mind in leaving your child in the care of someone else. So when it came time for me to find some type of employment, I instinctively knew that I could provide childcare to those who need someone experienced, reliable, and professional. I am a self motivated, upbeat, easy going person. I know when to draw a line so that children understand both what is allowed and what is expected. On the other hand, I let them know the fun side of me so that they forget that they are not with Mommy and/or Daddy.
At 14, I was the regular babysitter for a 4 month old girl and a 2 year old boy. I babysat for that family through the end of highschool… 4 years. I can’t even imagine having someone that young care for my children now. Even then I knew that I had a great talent to be with kids.
My current experience is that I have been caring forchildren in my home since the fall of 2009. I also worked at a church nursery on Sundays taking care of the children who cannot yet make it through an enitre service.
I parent with the idea that positive reinforcement is the best for a child… And if a difficult situation arises, I find that redirection and communication work the best. I also believe in activities, activities, activities. That can be reading, playing a boardgame, doing a craft, going to the park, playing pretend or anything else kids find exciting and fun. I do not believe in babysitting with movies or shows.
I believe in open and honest communication with the parent(s) and child(ren). I also understand that parent(s) have specific ideas of the upbringing of their child(ren) and am completely understanding and willing to work with them.
At the moment, I am most interested in weekday work with your child/children being cared for in my home.
My husband and I do not smoke or use drugs. We have two kitties that are the gentlest things ever! Even when our little boy finds it entertaining to wrestle with them.. :).
I would humbly ask that you give me a try. I know how much I wish I had more help on certain days. So consider me for something as simple as a night out, to do grocery shopping, to go a doctor’s/dentist’s appointment, to clean up around the house or just to give your self some quiet time. I would encourge a meeting, with kids, before hiring me for work.
If you would like/require, I can provide names and contact information for some of my peers and/or families that I have sat for as references.
Feel free to contact me with any other questions that you have! And thank you for taking the time to read my profile.

Rate: $8/hour – $15/hour


Child Ages:
3 weeks - 9 years
Smoker:
No
CPR Certified:
No
Hours of Operation:
Early afternoon: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, and Friday.
Early morning: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, and Friday.
Late afternoon: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, and Friday.
Late morning: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, and Friday.
There is currently no information provided
Request Information

Testimonials

This provider has chosen not to display their testimonials

Oh no! There are currently no testimonials.
Please check back later.

Loading local providers...