Benjamin T.

Babysitter in Chicago, IL 60640

Chicago, IL 60640



You will be taken to an external provider profile web page.

Write a message

I am an animal trainer at John G. Shedd Aquarium. I focus on dog training but work with the Beluga Whales & Pacific White-Sided Dolphins, as well. Prior to living in Chicago I attended graduate school and worked for Harvard University for 2 years.

When I was very young I would babysit for my sister, who was a single mother. I began watching my nephew while he was an infant, under the supervision of my mother. It was then that I realized how much I truly love caring for children. After the first two years, I then began watching my nephew on my own. Having the opportunity to care for a child over several years is something that I have cherished and has inspired me to continue doing so later in life.

While in college I volunteered for a children’s softball league for children with Autism and Asperger syndrome. During this time I had the opportunity to gain the children’s trust and help them do things they didn’t think were possible. Although challenging at times, it was all worth it to see the children having a good time. One thing at the center of my philosophy is that a child’s imagination and curiosity should be supported and facilitated at all times. It is this curiosity that fuels their desire for education and enables them to believe in the “impossible”. In the past I have cared for children up to the age of 11, However, I feel the most comfortable with young children. Although male sitters are rare, I have no reservations with playing with GI Joe’s to attending a tea party!

Additional services: Laundry, Light housekeeping, and Swimming supervision.

Rate: $17/hour – $25/hour


Child Ages:
3 weeks - 9 years
Smoker:
No
CPR Certified:
Yes
Hours of Operation:
Early morning: Monday and Thursday.
Late morning: Monday, Tuesday, and Thursday.
Early afternoon: Monday, Tuesday, and Thursday.
Late afternoon: Sunday, Monday, and Thursday.
Early evening: Sunday, Monday, Wednesday, and Thursday.
Late evening: Sunday, Monday, Wednesday, and Thursday.
Overnight: Wednesday and Thursday.
There is currently no information provided
Request Information

Testimonials

This provider has chosen not to display their testimonials

Oh no! There are currently no testimonials.
Please check back later.

Loading local providers...