Danielle R.

Babysitter in Boston, MA 02113

Boston, MA 02113



You will be taken to an external provider profile web page.

Write a message

I began caring for children when I was 12 years old. Initially, most of my babysitting and nannying clientele were family friends and children that went to school, dance, or other activities with my sisters, who are 8 and 12 years younger than me. Occasionally, I babysat for my younger sisters and cousins, as well, but I was often booked on a regular basis. Throughout high school, there were were several families that I sat for regularly – every Friday or Saturday night, during the day in the summer months, etc. – and others that I babysat for when their parents went out on occasion for date night, a special occasion, or just to run errands sans children. I also taught dance classes throughout high school to children from 5-11 years old. I was responsible for conducting the class professionally, but also for making sure that the children had fun! I taught the children how to warm up to keep their bodies and muscles safe, a range of age-appropriate dance moves including proper body alignment, and how they can have fun and express themselves through movement. It was very rewarding to watch the children learn and improve throughout the year and seeing each class perform two dances at dance recital at the end of the year was the icing on the cake! In college, I continued and expanded my child care experience. Sophomore year, I met a family with four children ranging from 1-6 years old and sat for them for two years, until they moved my senior year of college. Typically, I cared for the 1 and 3 year olds two to three days a week while their father worked and their mother volunteered, ran errands, and had some time to herself. In addition, Id sit for all four children occasionally when their parents went out. Caring for all of the children at once was a bit of a challenge, especially since the two older boys could be rambunctious at times, but they were all kind children with huge imaginations and caring for them was always fun. One summer when I was in college, I nannied for a sweet 1 year old boy three days a week while his mom, who is a school teacher, tutored students. We took advantage of the beautiful summer weather and enjoyed going for walks and playing outdoors. For two other summers, I worked as a Camp Counselor at a day camp. Both years, I worked with a curious and energetic group of 4 and 5 year old children. There were about 20 children and 2 other counselors in my group. I was responsible for the overall care and safety of the children throughout the day. In addition, I made sure that they got to various activities on time and assisted them during these activities, ensured that they were dressed appropriately before and after swim, applied and reapplied sunscreen and bug spray as necessary, ensured that they ate lunch and snacks, and provided them with fun, appropriate activities during downtime. It was an educational and rewarding experience to get to work with such an eclectic group of children with such different personalities and interests. After college, I began working full-time and have been babysitting only on occasion, mostly for family and friends. Throughout my child care experiences, I have cared for children from under a year old upwards to eleven years old. I feel very comfortable with children of all ages and am confident in caring for them. Caring for children of each age group has unique and special benefits, but I most enjoy caring for children ages 5 and under. The mental and social development and growth in motor skills that occurs in such a short period of time during these ages is astounding and an amazing thing to see and be a part of. My child care philosophy is Expect the unexpected! Caring for children can be very unpredictable and having a positive outlook, but being prepared for anything, helps make unexpected situations go more smoothly. Whether a child falls and scrapes a knee or cant find his or her special blanket at naptime, it is important to remain calm to help ease the childs anxiety, think clearly, and do what is necessary to keep the situation under control. I think that no matter the age of the children that you are caring for, it is very important to engage them in a range of activities that are educational, build up social skills, are physically active, expand their creativity and imagination, and help them explore the world around them. Specific activities vary for children of different ages, of course, but making sure that you vary activities helps make playtime fun and beneficial to their growth and development. I am excited and eager to begin child care again, as it is something that I have always enjoyed. Every day is new and different and while it is a huge responsibility, it is rewarding and fun to be a part of a childs life.

Languages spoken: Spanish.

Additional services: Meal preparation, Laundry, Light housekeeping, Swimming supervision, Crafts, Potty training, and Travel with family.

Rate: $12/hour – $25/hour


Child Ages:
3 weeks - 9 years
Smoker:
No
CPR Certified:
Yes
Hours of Operation:
Early morning: Sunday, Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, and Saturday.
Late morning: Sunday, Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, and Saturday.
Early afternoon: Sunday, Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, and Saturday.
Late afternoon: Sunday, Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday.
Early evening: Sunday, Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday.
Overnight: Sunday.
There is currently no information provided
Request Information

Testimonials

This provider has chosen not to display their testimonials

Oh no! There are currently no testimonials.
Please check back later.

Loading local providers...